Dead Freddie is the Chicago Pop-Punk Phenomena.

The current members of the band are: Gintas Buinevicius on Drums, Guitar and Backing Vocals, Jay Douglas on Guitar, Steve Foley on Bass Guitar and Donatas Ramanauskas on Lead Vocals, Accordion and Keyboards. The core of the group has been together since 2013.

Our original music is a blend of punk, post-punk, power-pop, ska and straight-up rock, albeit with our own personal twist.

The original line-up, called Dead Freddie Band, formed in 1979 on the southwest side of Chicago. The members of that group were: Vainis Aleksa, Lead & Rhythm Guitar and Backing Vocals; Algis Plioplys, Lead & Rhythm Guitar; Vitas Plioplys, Bass Guitar and Backing Vocals; Juozas Mikuzis on Drums and Donatas Ramanauskas, Lead Vocals. The group played mainly original material, but was certainly influenced by the new Punk movement with the likes of the Sex Pistols, Ramones and Clash as well as by proto-punk artists such as Iggy Pop, Lou Reed, glam rock performers such as David Bowie and Mott the Hoople plus some classic rock by The Who, Rolling Stones, Beatles and Bruce Springsteen. Finally, the excellent Power-Pop groups of Chicago and the Midwest, such as Cheap Trick, Off Broadway USA, Skafish and Pez Band, were also strong influencers of the early Dead Freddie sound. The original group disbanded in 1982.

Gintas Buinevicius has previously played in various bands since the 1980’s including Steak, Up, The Sloping of Water, The Ralleys and The Repeats. He writes and posts solo material as Friends of the Moth. Gintas has also worked on various musical side projects with guitarist Jay Douglas, who also creates music with the group Discoveries of the American Scientific. Steve Foley has been playing Bass guitar intermittently since the 1980’s with various loose-knit groups.

The autumn of 2013 brought together the core of the current line-up, and with it, all the elements of what we refer to as the “Punk Pop Phenomena”, that splices together all the inspirational genres into the Dead Freddie “Vibe”.

The first release by the group was released in November 2016, a 6-track EP titled “If I Knew What I Wanted”. It contains classic tracks from the original 1980 material, plus three new original tracks.